FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FRIDAY, JUNE 2 NCAA BASEBALL

College Division Rallies to Tie University Division in 2017 NEIBA All-Star Game

PAWTUCKET, R.I.—Southern Connecticut State University's Nick Lamberti drove in Owls' teammate Greg Zullo with the tying run in the bottom of the eighth inning as the College Division (Division II/III) squad rallied rallied for a 3-3 tie against University Division (Division I) team in the 2017 Joe Walsh New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) All-Star Game on Friday afternoon at McCoy Stadium.

The 43rd edition of the game produced the first tie since 2011 and the third overall. The University Division holds 24-12-3 edge in the all-time series.

Mike Corin of the University of Rhode Island hit a two-run homer in the top of the fourth inning on his way to earning most valuable player honors. Colby Maiola of UMass Lowell drew a leadoff walk in the sixth and later scored on an RBI groundout by Charlie McConnell of Northeastern University to give the University All-Stars a 3-1 lead.

Ezekial Sanchez walked and stole a pair of bases before scoring on a wild pitch in the bottom of the first for the College All-Stars, who cut their deficit to 3-2 in the last of the sixth when Tom Petry of Tufts University scored on an RBI single by Lamberti.

Matt Tulley of UMass Boston was selected as the NEIBA All-Star Game Most Valuable Pitcher after recording one strikeout in a perfect third inning.

Prior to the game a ceremony was held on the field to honor the 2017 NEIBA award winners and the organization's inaugural hall of fame class. A full list of the honorees is below.

TEAM OF THE YEAR

Division I: Connecticut

Division II: Southern New Hampshire

Division III: UMass Boston

COACH OF THE YEAR

Division I: John Stuper, Yale

Division II: Scott Loiseau, Southern New Hampshire

Division III: Matt Noone, Babson

SERVICE AWARDS

Jack Butterfield: Matt Noone, Babson

Kevin Burr Assistant Coach Award: Mike Phelps, Middlebury Andy Baylock Distinguished Service Award: Pete Frates

HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES

Archie Allen
John "Tinker" Connelly
John Winkin
Andy Baylock
Dick Bergquist
Jack Butterfield
Jim Stone
Joe Zavattaro

Jeremy Viens Athletics Communications Director Babson College jviens@babson.edu